Anjeev Singh Academy

Anjeev Singh Academy

List of Prime Ministers of India (1947-2023)

Indian Prime Ministers (1947-2023)

The role of the Prime Minister in India is of paramount importance as the head of the government. Following a general election victory, the Indian President appoints the Prime Minister based on the nominated candidate from the winning political party, usually the leader of that party.

India witnessed the appointment of its inaugural Prime Minister in 1947, and as of 2023, Narendra Modi holds this esteemed position.

This article aims to provide a detailed list of the Prime Ministers of India, accompanied by an available PDF resource.

The list of Prime Ministers of India holds significant relevance, particularly in the context of the general awareness section of examinations such as UPSC and other government exams.

Looking ahead, the next general elections, determining the future Prime Minister, are slated for 2024. This article serves as a valuable resource for candidates seeking information on the Prime Ministers of India throughout the country’s history.

List of Indian Prime Minister

Across 72 years of independence, India has witnessed the leadership of 19 Prime Ministers. The table below outlines the list of Indian Prime Ministers, accompanied by the durations of their respective terms in office.

S.NoPrime MinisterPeriod
1Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru15th Aug 1947- 27th May 1964
2Gulzarilal Nanda (interim)27th May 1964- 9th Jun 1964
3Lal Bahadur Shastri9th June 1964 -11th January 1966
4Gulzarilal Nanda11th January 1966- 24th January 1966
5Indira Gandhi24th January 1966- 24th March 1977
6Morarji Desai24th March 1977- 28th July 1979
7Charan Singh28th July 1979- 14th January 1980
8Indira Gandhi14th January 1980- 31st October 1984
9Rajiv Gandhi31st October 1984- 2nd December 1989
10Vishwa Pratap Singh2nd December 1989- 10th November 1990
11Chandra Shekhar10th November 1990-21st June 1991
12P. V Narasimha Rao21st June 1991- 16th May 1996
13Atal Bihari Vajpayee16th May 1996-1st June 1996
14H. D Deve Gowda1st June 1996- 21st April 1997
15Inder Kumar Gujral21st April 1997- 18th March 1998
16Atal Bihari Vajpayee18th March 1998- 22nd May 2004
17Dr Manmohan Singh22nd May 2004 -17th May 2014
18Narendra Modi26th May 2014 -23rd May 2019
19Narendra Modi30th May 2019 -Incumbent

Narendra Modi stands as the 15th Prime Minister of India, excluding those who were re-elected. His tenure is characterized by being the fourth Indian Prime Minister to achieve two consecutive terms, marking a significant milestone. Additionally, Modi is the first non-Congress Party Prime Minister to complete two consecutive terms in office.

Sorry! You cannot copy content of this page. Please contact, in case you want this content.

Scroll to Top